Computers OverClocked Forums Computers OverClocked
"Not just another computer help website."

FAQ Search Upgrade Register
Favorite Threads Private Messaging Login

Menu
Forums
RegisterRegister
Over Clocking Guide
Over Clocking Help
Computer Building Help
Virus/Security Alerts
Broadband Tweaks
Computing Guides
Featured Hot Deals
Reviews
Tools


Top 25 reasons to register!

Advertise your link here for $19.99/month!

 
 Computers OverClocked Welcomes You!
 Date/Time is Mon Oct 22, 2018 11:07 pm
 Computer Photo Gallery
Computing News Headlines:
New HTC Android Phones Tweaked to Evade Apple Patents
Ivy Bridge Temperatures – It’s Gettin’ Hot in Here
Adobe CS6 on sale today, Creative Cloud coming May 11th

Dual instances of TSC
Post new topic Reply to topic Computers OverClocked Forums - ComputersOC Distributed Computing Teams All times are GMT - 5 Hours - EDT
Author Message
cbell
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Feb 07 2007
Posts: 187

PostPost subject: Dual instances of TSC
Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:07 am
Reply with quote

I'm running TSC on my home computer which has a Core2 Duo E6600. It only uses 50% of the resources (50% of each core). Should I be running two instances of the program, each set to a different affinity?
Back to top
 Rate Post
Spykill
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Nov 07 2006
Posts: 511

PostPost subject:
Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:19 pm
Reply with quote

Yes.
Back to top
 Rate Post
Jacob062406
Platinum Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: May 10 2006
Posts: 4536
Location: Allentown, PA

PostPost subject:
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:15 am
Reply with quote

Definitely yes... I run it on all 3 of my Dual Core systems... well used to until it started crapping on me!
_________________
http://www.solarice.net
http://www.vendettadesigns.com
Back to top
 Rate Post
cbell
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Feb 07 2007
Posts: 187

PostPost subject:
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:43 pm
Reply with quote

K, cool... how do I get 2 instances to run?
Back to top
 Rate Post
Spykill
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Nov 07 2006
Posts: 511

PostPost subject:
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:28 am
Reply with quote

Good question.

I need an answer too!
Back to top
 Rate Post
cbell
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Feb 07 2007
Posts: 187

PostPost subject:
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:02 am
Reply with quote

No one knows? I've been using BOINC lately, only cuz it seems to be more efficiently using my resources.
Back to top
 Rate Post
PCracer51
Category (1) Deputy



Category (1) Deputy

User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Mar 14 2006
Posts: 5118

PostPost subject:
Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:08 pm
Reply with quote

According to: http://www.childhooddiseases.org/cgi-tsc/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=3;t=000173

To run it on a multiCPU or multicore system the easiest way is to install the community tsc software a second time to a seperate directory, and run 2 instances of the program each with a different node ID.

Also make sure to set the affinity for the processes so it used both CPUs/cores from inside task manager.
_________________

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=91038

Last edited by PCracer51 on Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Rate Post
cbell
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Feb 07 2007
Posts: 187

PostPost subject:
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:42 pm
Reply with quote

Cool, thanks... I'll give it a shot when I get a chance
Back to top
 Rate Post
Spykill
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Nov 07 2006
Posts: 511

PostPost subject:
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:48 pm
Reply with quote

Yeah, thats how I do it.

ones installed to like C:\TST

then C:\TSC\1
Back to top
 Rate Post
Adam
His Excellency



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Jun 15 2003
Posts: 5537
Location: New York

PostPost subject:
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:43 am
Reply with quote

I gotta update the guide... I just install it the first time, and then I install it a second time, but I change the path to something else... and I make sure there are two TSC icons in the startup folder, each going to the correct path (if you hit Yes for it to show up on startup on both, I think it only does it for one instance, so you need to manually put one in there).
_________________
Fast computers wanted to cure diseases: Distributed Computing
Do you like the site? Did I help you out?
Please consider upgrading to an Advantage Account. It helps the site's expensive costs. Thanks!
Back to top
 Rate Post
Spykill
Member



User is offline 
Send private message
Joined: Nov 07 2006
Posts: 511

PostPost subject:
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:18 am
Reply with quote

Adam on Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:43 pm wrote:
I gotta update the guide... I just install it the first time, and then I install it a second time, but I change the path to something else... and I make sure there are two TSC icons in the startup folder, each going to the correct path (if you hit Yes for it to show up on startup on both, I think it only does it for one instance, so you need to manually put one in there).


Correctomundo.
Back to top
 Rate Post
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic Reply to topic Computers OverClocked Forums - ComputersOC Distributed Computing Teams Page 1 of 1


Similar Topics
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts hat is why there are instances wherei... meichangsu520 Build a Computer - Computer Building Help 0 Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:37 pm View latest post
No new posts mpionship.Durant and Westbrook have s... sxx123 Site Help and Information 0 Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:09 am View latest post
No new posts of days after the dual Brownlow medal... sxx123 Site Help and Information 0 Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:21 pm View latest post
No new posts This dazzling dual-sided charm isn't ... susanpedrowen Over Clocking and Mods 0 Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:53 am View latest post
No new posts n showed why he was the No. 1 rated d... sxx123 Site Help and Information 0 Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:16 am View latest post